Fairfield Community Foundation - Home



To enhance and strengthen the quality of life for the citizens of Fairfield, Fairfield Township and surrounding areas by assessing community needs and securing and expanding resources to meet those needs.


Fairfield Community Foundation - Fairfield's Choice for Giving.

New Officers Selected for Board of Trustees

Steve Smith was elected chair of the Board of Trustees at its first meeting of the year in June. Steve is Senior Underwriting Manager at Cincinnati Insurance Company. Steve has been a member of the Board since June of 2012. He has served as a member of the Publicity, Strategic Planning and Nominating Committees and chaired the Marketing Committee in 2013-2014. He also currently chairs the Development/Planned Giving Committee for the Foundation.

Other officers elected for 2015-2016 are vice chair Steve Wolterman, partner with Clemmons & Wolterman law firm; secretary Kathleen Michitti, volunteer; and treasurer Robert Jung, vice president wealth management advisor, U.S. Bank.

Steve Smith, Board Chair

$114,000 in Scholarships Awarded to Graduating Seniors

Area graduating seniors were awarded $114,000 in scholarships from Fairfield Community Foundation Funds during May. Fairfield High School Students and others living in Fairfield or Fairfield Township received $86,000 in scholarship funds. Additionally, $28,000 was awarded to 24 students from the 14 Butler County High Schools at the Joe Nuxhall Scholarship Luncheon on May 22 at Miami Hamilton.

Scholarships are awarded each year from funds established by individuals, families, organizations, service clubs and others who want to make a college education available to graduating seniors in the area.

"Most funds are restricted to be given to students who attend Fairfield High School," said Diane Ruder, Foundation president. "However, the Nuxhall Scholarships are awarded to students who attend all the Butler County high schools. The schools can elect to give the scholarships to one or two graduating seniors."

2015 Joe Nuxhall Scholarship Winners

Peg Collins New Wall of Fame Honoree

Long-time civic volunteer and leader, Margaret “Peg” Collins, has been selected to have her photo included on the Foundation’s Wall of Fame located in the Fairfield Performing Arts Center during a ceremony on Thursday, May 7, 2015 beginning at 5:30 p.m.

Peg’s civic involvement and volunteer activities positively impacted the City of Fairfield’s development and its citizens’ lives in many ways.  In 1978, Peg was elected to the City Charter Commission which helped developed the charter to establish the city’s City Manager Form of government.  Beginning in 1980, Peggy served as a member of the City of Fairfield Planning Commission for 25 years representing the Fairfield 4th Ward. Peggy worked with others on projects which, over time, set the course for the development of the city’s Village Green area.

Among many other volunteer efforts, Peg was actively involved in the League of Women Voters and Sacred Heart Parish activities. 

The Wall of Fame ceremony is open to the public.

Eaton and Kenworthy Named 2015 Kaleidoscope Winners

Ercel Eaton and Angela Kenworthy were named 2015 Kaleidoscope winners at the Angel Ball/Annual Meeting held at the Oscar Center on March 28.  The awards were presented by Liz Bonis, Channel 12 reporter, and Diane Ruder, Foundation president.  The awards are presented every other year to Fairfield and Fairfield Township winner who exemplify leadership in volunteer activities and/or their careers. 

Eaton was chosen for her significant contributions to Butler County through her writing, primarily for the Journal News.  Kenworthy was selected based on her outstanding volunteer activities focused on helping children.